Life Science Entrepreneurs, Cardiologists, & Circulatory Support Experts


Eric S. Fain, M.D.

President & CEO

With over 30 years of experience in the medical device industry, Dr. Fain was the former Senior Vice President and Group President, Cardiovascular and Neuromodulation at Abbott following their acquisition of St. Jude Medical in 2017. Dr. Fain became Group President of St. Jude Medical in 2014. Dr. Fain received his M.D. from Stanford University School of Medicine.

Reynolds M. Delgado III, MD, FACC

Founder & Chief Medical Officer

Practicing cardiologist and leader in the field of heart failure. Medical Director, Mechanical Support Devices in Heart Failure, Texas Heart Institute; Advisory Board, Boston Scientific (LATITUDE HF monitoring system); Author on two NEJM articles that led to the FDA approval of the Heartmate II™ LVAD.

Jason Heuring, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer

Experienced venture-backed founder of three start-ups; McKinsey & Co. consultant with CV OR and cath-lab focused engagements; Ph.D. from Oxford University in Sensors, Sensor Fusion, Control Systems, and Artificial Vision.

Elisabeth (Beth) Neely

Senior Vice President, Clinical And Regulatory Affairs

Beth brings to Procyrion more than 20 years of experience as a global regulatory affairs leader, having played a key role in the approval of neuromodulation and cardiac devices. She has been integral in successful US and international registrations for clinical trials and commercial product approvals.

Av Edidin, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President, Development and Manufacturing

Av brings over 25 years of experience in the research, development, and manufacture of medical devices and has introduced commercial products in the long-bone orthopaedic, spinal fixation and ablation, and catheter instrumentation areas. He is named on over 15 U.S. and foreign patents. Av received his Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from Cornell University.

Katherine Cox

Vice President, Quality Assurance

Katherine is an experienced Quality Assurance professional, highly knowledgeable and skilled in Quality Engineering and in developing, implementing and maintaining Quality Management Systems compliant with 21 CFR 820, ISO 13485 and international regulations for successful 510k / CE Mark device registration and PMA approval.

Chris Durst, PhD

Vice President, Product Development

Accomplished bioengineer and medical device entrepreneur with extensive experience in structural heart research; experience in world-class labs in both the US and Europe, developing enabling technologies for the treatment of valve disease; BS with highest honors from the Georgia Institute of Technology; PhD in Bioengineering from Rice University.

Board of Directors

Gerhard “Gary” F. Burbach

Mr. Burbach, an accomplished medical device executive, joined Procyrion’s Board as an Independent Director and Chairman in February 2016. From January 2006 to September 2014, Mr. Burbach served as president, chief executive officer, and director of Thoratec Corporation (NASDAQ: THOR).

Eric S. Fain, M.D.

With over 30 years of experience in the medical device industry, Dr. Fain was the former Senior Vice President and Group President, Cardiovascular and Neuromodulation at Abbott following their acquisition of St. Jude Medical in 2017. Dr. Fain became Group President of St. Jude Medical in 2014. Dr. Fain received his M.D. from Stanford University School of Medicine.

Leo Linbeck, III

Leo Linbeck III is the Chairman and Founder of Fannin Innovation Studio. Leo is also President and CEO of the Aquinas Companies, LLC, which sponsored Fannin for five years to validate its model before bringing in outside investors for scale-up. Leo graduated from the University of Notre Dame with both Civil Engineering and Liberal Arts degrees and received a Master’s in Structural Engineering from the University of Texas. He earned his MBA from the Stanford University Graduate School of Business.

Carter Meyer

Carter Meyer is the founder and Managing Partner of View Ventures, a venture capital fund investing in medical and health technologies. For the 14 years years prior to that, Mr. Meyer was the Chief Executive Officer of SHD Management, LLC (“SHD”) which is the manager of three life science investment funds.

Marc Chaput

Marc Chaput is a Partner at Gravitas Healthcare, a strategic advisory firm focused on emerging growth medical device companies. Prior to Gravitas, he was a Director in Cowen & Co.'s health care investment banking group, and prior to that he worked in the health care group at Deutsche Bank. He is also on the Advisory Committee of Sweetwater Capital Partners and represents the State of Texas on the Procyrion board.

Jeff Bird

Jeff Bird has been a life science investor for nearly twenty years at Sutter Hill Ventures. In 2019, he formed Bluebird Ventures. Jeff received an MD and PhD (Cancer Biology) degree from Stanford Medical School, and was a Stanford undergraduate.

Scientific Advisory Board

Keith Aaronson, MD, MS

Keith Aaronson, MD, MS, is the Bertram Pitt, MD Collegiate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Professor of Internal Medicine in the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Michigan Medical School, the Medical Director of the Cardiac Transplant Service and the Center for Circulatory Support and the Co-Director of the Heart Failure and Transplant Management Program for Michigan Medicine.

Jennifer Cowger, MD, MS, FACC

Jennifer Cowger, MD, MS, FACC is the Section Head of Heart Failure, Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support at Henry Ford Hospital.

Matheen A. Khuddus, MD, FACC, FSCAI

Matheen Khuddus, MD is the Director of Cardiovascular Research at The Cardiac and Vascular Institute in Gainesville, Florida and Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Central Florida.

Manesh R. Patel, MD, FACC, FAHA, FSCAI

Manesh Patel, MD, Chief of the Division of Cardiology for Duke's Department of Medicine, is an associate professor of medicine, a member of the Duke Clinical Research Institute, and director of Interventional Cardiology and Cardiac Catheterization Labs across the Duke University Health System.

Sean Pinney, MD, FACC, FAST, FHFSA

Sean Pinney, MD is the Philip J. and Harriet L. Goodhart Professor of Medicine and the Chief, Division of Cardiology at Mount Sinai Morningside.

Janani Rangaswami, MD, FACP, FCRS, FAHA

Janani Rangaswami, MD, FACP, FCRS, FAHA is an attending nephrologist and professor of medicine at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. She is the fellowship program director for the Division of Nephrology at GWU, as well as director of the cardiorenal program.


Palak Shah, MD, MS is Medical Director of the Mechanical Circulatory Support (MCS) and Heart Failure Research programs at the Inova Heart and Vascular Institute and is an Associate Professor of Medicine at George Washington University.

Nir Uriel, MD, MSc

Nir Uriel, MD, MSc, an internationally recognized leader in heart failure, mechanical circulatory support, and heart transplantation, is Director of Advanced Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplantation at New York-Presbyterian.

Prof. Stephen Worthley, MB, BS, PhD, FRACP, FACC, FCSANZ, FRCP

Prof. Stephen Worthley is Executive Manager of Cardiology at GenesisCare in mainland Australia, leading a network of over 80 cardiologists and 6 practices.